The Oliphant Campers' Association held its first meeting at the Cross cottage on Cranberry Island in the summer of 1903, following the first known campers’ picnic the week earlier. It has been operating continuously since that time. It was formed to provide leadership in the following areas:

  • Connector.Connector.

    Welfare and protection of member properties

  • Connector.Connector.

    Planning, operating and evaluating annual regattas providing timely, relevant information to members

  • Connector.Connector.

    Reviewing issues which may pose a threat to members

  • Connector.Connector.

    Acquiring, maintaining and storing trophies and equipment

  • Connector.Connector.

    Supporting local dredging programs and providing leadership in this important aspect of Oliphant life including ensuring safe navigable channel passages.

  • Connector.Connector.

    Facilitating and financially supporting the upkeep of the “government” dock.

The OCA has been around for:
The OCA currently has
families and counting...
that is just about

The Name Oliphant

Lawrence Oliphant

We are named after the government appointee, Laurence Oliphant, the well know author, traveler and private secretary of Lord Elgin, as Superintendent General of Indian Affairs. It was through his efforts that in 1854 the Oliphant Treaty was negotiated and signed at Saugeen, allowing the government to survey the lands gained by the Manitowaning Treaty.

Our Leaders

The OCA appoints an annual board from which officers and committee members are selected. Regular meetings are held four times per year and members are kept informed through a semi-annual newsletter.

David Woolfrey

Past President

Colin Lewis


Colin Yardley

First Vice

Jeff Bond

Second Vice & Harbour Master

Rebecca Yardley


Andrew Yorke



Colleen Bond


Robbie Owen

Regatta Coordinator & Harbour Master

David Livingstone

Lake Steward

Rob Lister

Chair Harbour Master

Cherie Jacob and Kym Burt


Eloise Hardy, Andy Brown and Tammy Thurtell

Other Directors

Our Leaders